The annual Parish Sports evening was held Thursday 13th June at the GAA complex. Thankfully, the weather was fine and a large crowd of excited children attended.



The evening commenced with Tiny Tots race and went the whole way up to U13 100m sprint. For the U13 boys sprint, there was an epic battle between Daire O Donnell and Tadhg O Donnell with Daire just taking the tape to win the Brinsley Lowth trophy.

In the girls U13 sprint, again a very close race with Molly Gilmartin winning the Eileen O Reilly Memorial trophy. This was the inaugural presentation of the trophy, with Eileen’s daughter Liz Moynihan presenting Molly with her trophy. Eileen O Reilly was a terrific role model for female participation in sport, with her involvement in athletics and Ballytarsna AC, camogie, squash, tennis and racquet ball. Mollie’s mother Eva and Liz are old school friends, which made the presentation even more poignant and special.

While the sprints were ongoing, Ailbe O Dwyer, PJ O Donnell and Albert Maher ran off the boys’ and girls’ long puck competition.

Once the sprints were completed, the comedy element of the evening began with the three legged races and the sack races!

Then the fiercely contested school relay race took place with one team each from Ballytarsna and Dualla schools and two from Boherlahan. A very close race ensued, with the Ballytarsna team of Sam Doyle, Fiona Maher, Doireann Ryan and Daire O Donnell retaining the trophy, just ahead of the Boherlahan team of Eimear Dwan, Cian Fitzgerald, Molly Gilmartin and Tadhg O Donnell.

The final event of the evening was the inter schools Tug-of-War competition. Semi Final one was between Dualla and Boherlahan 1 team – best of three pulls. These were extremely close with Dualla just managing to win out. Semi Final two was between Ballytarsna and Boherlahan 2. Boherlahan 2 won out setting up the final against Dualla. The Final was extremely close with huge excitement and encouragement from the crowd. Boherlahan 2 team was the victors with their team comprising of Rachel Ryan, Ben Kirby, Sean Moynihan, Eimear Dwan, Molly Gilmartin, Ella Coppinger, Cian Fitzgerald and Tadhg O Donnell.

The field was set up in the morning by Aine Crosse, Corrie Dwyer, Thomas Quirke, PJ O Donnell, WJ Dwyer, Jimmy Fitzgerald and John Foley.

On the night, there were many helpers including Finish Line – Annette O Donnell, Brian Heffernan, John Maher, Austin Lawrence and David Ryan. Announcer – Neville O Connell, PA System – Garret McLoughlin. Registration and recording of medalists – Caroline Ryan, Elaine Fitzgerald (photos), Mary O Donnell and Annemarie O Dwyer. Start line and race organization Corrie Dwyer, Aine Crosse and Karen Heffernan. Tug of War – Austin Lawrence, Ailbe O Dwyer, Karen Heffernan and PJ O Donnell. The Ladies Football club kindly ran the shop.

Sean Trainor, Chair of the parish council thanked the GAA for the use of the complex, and thanked  all for attending and helping. The overwhelming response from the children was positive and enthusiastic – thanks to them and their parents for such an enjoyable evening. Roll on next year………..




Tiny Tots Boys

1. Rian Harrington

2. David Leamy

3. Sam Hogan


Tiny Tots Girls

1. Niamh Delahunty

2. Amy Meehan

3. Grace Hickey


U5 Boys

1. Fiachra O Connor

2.Tom Fahey

3. Luke O Connell


U5 Girls

1. Lucy McCarthy

2. Sarah Fogarty

3. Fiadh Maher


U6 Boys

1. Jacob Baronitis

2. James Ryan

3. Eanna Moynihan


U6 Girls

1. Cameron O Connor

2. Ora Krasniqi

3. Aoibheann Lacey


U7 Boys

1. Cian O Donnell

2. Adam Kearney

3. Luke Keane


U7 Girls

1. Rebecca McLoughlin

2. Aoife McLoughlin/ Nicole Flanagan

3. Amelia Gleeson


U8 Boys

1. Cian Fogarty

2. Albert Maher

3. Jamie Maher


U8 Girls

1. Leah O Connell

2. Triona Heffernan

3. Kate Brown


U9 Boys

1. Harry Ryan

2. Bobby McLoughlin

3. Ronan Devitt


U9 Girls

1. Aoife O Donnell

2. Leah O Connell

3. Abbie Morrissey


U10 Boys

1. Michael Delahunty

2. Conor O Donnell

3. Rhys Coppinger


U10 Girls

1. Abbie Horgan

2. Sophie Moynihan

3. Sarah Meehan


U11 Boys

1. Michael Delahunty

2. Oisin O Driscoll

3. Rion Krasniqi


U11 Girls

1. Doireann Ryan

2. Mollie Maher

3. Sophie Moynihan


U12 Boys

1. Daire O Donnell

2. Aaron Twomey

3. Sam Doyle


U12 Girls

1. Fiona Maher

2. Doireann Ryan

3. Alice Watchman


U13 Boys

1. Daire O Donnell

2. Tadhg O Donnell

3. Muiri Lambe


U13 Girls

1. Molly Gilmartin

2. Ella Coppinger

3. Eimear Dwan


Long Puck Boys

1. Brian Keane

2. Charlie Ryan

3. Bobby Power


Long Puck Girls

1. Abbie Horgan

2. Eimear Dwan

3. Sarah McLoughlin


U9 Three Legged Boys

1. Harry Ryan, Darragh Crosse

2. Niall Quirke, Albert Maher


U9 Three Legged Girls

1. Leah O Connell, Aoife O Donnell

2. Chloe Tobin, Kate Maher


U13 Three Legged Boys

1. Daire O Donnell, Sam Doyle

2. Conor Kennedy, Brian Devitt


U13 Three Legged Girls

1. Molly Gilmartin, Ella Coppinger

2. Leah O Connell, Aoife O Donnell


U9 Sack Race Boys

1. Harry Ryan

2. Jack Maher

3. Ronan Devitt


U9 Sack Race Girls

1. Aoife O Donnell

2. Kate Brown

3. Leah O Connell


U13 Sack Race Boys ( 2 races)

1. Charlie Ryan, Tommy Breen

2. Daire O Donnell, Muiri Lambe


U13 Sack Race Girls (2 races)

1. Molly Maher, Florinae O Donnell

2. Alice Watchman, Avril O Dwyer


Schools Relay

1. Ballytarsna – Sam Doyle, Fiona Maher, Doireann Ryan, Daire O Donnell

2. Boherlahan – Eimear Dwan, Cian Fitzgerald, Molly Gilmartin, Tadhg O Donnell


Tug of War

1. Boherlahan – Rachel Ryan, Ben Kirby, Sean Moynihan, Eimear Dwan, Molly Gilmartin, Ella Coppinger, Cian Fitzgerald, Tadhg O Donnell